HOME
Showing posts with label Food - Beverages. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Food - Beverages. Show all posts

Friday, January 22, 2016

I love coffee... Finally!

By now most of you know that I do my best to consume a balanced diet meaning I eat very healthy things. . . And some very unhealthy things :) It's definitely a balancing act. At most I try to consume only one sugary thing a day. Before it was ice cream, a little bit each night but then I saw a news article early last year that said drinking 5 cups of coffee a day had a lot of health benefits. Since then I've traded in my ice cream for a smidge of chocolate sauce in my cafe mocha each morning.


The thing is I've always loved the way coffee smells but not so much the way it tastes. That is until, just like dessert wines, I finally figured out the very specific way I could enjoy it. It has to be very strong (I only like espresso beans), with just 3 TBS of milk or soy milk, and just under 1 TBS of Torani chocolate sauce added to it.


The first few times I made coffee I swiped some of Fred's paper filters for his Melitta pour-over system, plopped one in my kitchen funnel and gave it a go. Once I figured out the type of beans I liked I was ready to take the plunge and get some kind of single cup coffee maker. I didn't want anything that was breakable or had to be plugged in because I wanted to be able to take it traveling in The Glampette with me. I finally decided on a French press so that I wouldn't need to use disposable filters each day.

The Espro press pictured with my mug and a bowl of freshly ground coffee.

After a lot of online research I decided The Espro Press was the way to go. By all accounts it is outstanding and the first press that has a double micro-filtration system so no grounds make it through to make your coffee gritty. It comes in three sizes (8 oz, 18 oz, and 32 oz). I got the 8 oz as it would be my one cup per day which I figured would help keep me from becoming a raging coffeeholic.


Speaking of coffee, while reading about the different types and how to prepare them I learned you can buy raw beans and roast them at home. I ordered some from Mojo Roast online and was quite excited to roast them in my cast iron fry pan on my camping stove out on the back deck when they arrived. I learned to use a whisk to stir with and do it outside for sure because it's a very smoky process.


It's like making risotto. You continuously stir the beans for just over 15 minutes. I wish I'd saved the links to the articles I read (maybe these 1, 2) and the video I watched but I didn't and it was practically a year ago so I don't recall exactly which ones I used when I looked at Google just now. You can also you an air-pop popcorn popper to do the job. But I didn't have one so I stuck used the cast iron pan I did have.

Funny thing was, while roasting them out on the back deck I was attacked by black flies trying to bite my ears. I'd fling my arm up to brush them away and in the process a bean or two would fly out of the pan in the whisk and end up on the deck. As I collected them up after I was done I realized I had a perfect color chart to show the stages of roasting.


But here's the tricky thing. Even though you can find article after article that says drinking 5 cups a day is the magic number, none say how much ground coffee you use or to what ratio of water. This is something I noticed right off the bat because Fred uses less ground coffee than I do but then ends up using probably close to 7 cups of water and drinks weak, black coffee all day long. . .


Where as I like my coffee STRONG! I use 3 TBS of ground coffee to 8 oz of water. That's it. One cup a day but it's rich and tasty.


My new habit has also given me a reason to use the beautiful curlew mugs I found on Etsy years ago.

The bad thing? Oddly I still haven't gotten into the routine of being a daily coffee drinker. There have been a few instances where I forgot to drink my morning coffee and didn't realize, until a few hours later when I was lying around the house like a slug in a brain fog around noon, what was amiss (usually after Fred pointed it out). LOL


I even had a go at making cold-pressed coffee. I'll probably do more of that next summer.


It would go great with the breakfast affogatos (cofee + ice cream) I make from time to time :) See what I did there? Instead of chocolate sauce I add ice cream!


I even took my Espro to the Tearjerkers CRA Teardrop Trailer Rally last summer. Because it's small it was easy to pack and travel with. It's also gone into my carry on luggage when I've flown home to visit my family.

So, after many failed attempts over the years to learn to like and drink coffee, I finally do! Well, except for the days I forget. LOL

Sunday, December 30, 2012

My wine lover status has been confirmed


For Christmas hubby got me a case of my favorite wine.


He had it shipped to his office because our neighborhood has experienced at least one stolen package that I'm aware of in recent weeks and I didn't want to have to go to desperate measures to protect my wine like the woman who recently set a trap for her local package thief up in San Francisco. When he struck, she chased him down with a wooden sword, incapacitated him with bear spray, then made a citizens arrest and held him until the police arrived to take him to the hospital. It would make a great, adrenaline filled blog post but I really don't need the drama.

My case arrived safely and in good condition albeit a bit late. It didn't arrive until after hubby left work the Friday night before the holiday so I didn't receive it until the day after Christmas after he returned to work.


It was worth the wait. 12 bottles all for me! Along with the case came a handwritten note letting us know that only 78 cases of their 2010 Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc were made and that it's the kind of wine that will keep for decades. Decades?


Hmmm. I was planning on drinking a bottle a week for the next 12 weeks. Guess maybe I should pace myself.


Not only does Malm make a delicious wine, I love their attention to detail. Their monogrammed corks are sealed with a rich, red wax instead of foil.


There was also a postcard about the Wine Road's upcoming WInter WINEland event January 19-20, 2013. CLICK HERE for more details. Meet the winemakers, sample some food pairings, or take a winery tour. If you've never been to Sonoma's wine country before it would be a great time to go.

If you're interested in ordering some you can contact Malm Cellars at:

Ph 707.364.0441
Fax 707.473.9830

Malm Cellars
P.O. Box 1524
Healdsburg, California 95448

Monday, July 18, 2011

A Free Cuisinart Espresso Machine!


No, I didn't win it or receive it as a gift... I found it sitting on the curb with a sign taped to the top that read "FREE WORKS WELL! JUST GOT A NEW ONE." And it's not junky, it's a Cuisinart EM-100 Espresso Machine in great condition!

My lucky day!


The stainless cup and scoop/tamper were included. WOW! I was so excited.

I haven't used the machine yet because I have beans and Torani chocolate sauce but no bean grinder or milk. Once I get them I'll post how my first attempt went.

Since my first mocha during the Palo Alto food adventure I've now had three...

#1 at Calafia, Palo Alto, CA

#2 at Ghiradelli Chocolate Shop, San Francisco, CA

#3 at KMVT Mountain View, CA

My most recent cup was at 10:00 PM last Thursday night made by hubby's friend Nicole. I was afraid I'd regret drinking a fully caffeinated shot of espresso so late at night but I was sound asleep by 2:00 am which wasn't too bad. And it was so worth it. It was delicious! Best I've ever had of the three I've ever had.

I fell asleep thinking I wanted to get an espresso machine so I could make them from time to time at home.


Less than 24 hours later I found this machine sitting on the curb as hubby and I were heading out for dinner. "BACK UP and PULL OVER" I hollered at him because he didn't slow down the first time I asked nicely. "I think that was an espresso machine" I said. He was poo pooing me saying it wasn't as I leapt out of the car. Eeeeek! It was! It made me so happy not just because it was free but because it was kind of like recycling. I felt like I was adopting it and giving it a new home.

I went online to find a video tutorial about how to make a mocha. This one by top UK barista Robert Henry looked good.


I have to admit I've never put anything even close to equally great out on our curb.


We did give away this old futon that hubby inherited from his friend when he moved back to Canada. The mattress had become incredibly lumpy and bumpy. It took a day or two. We even sat on it for a while the first night after we were done walking the dog. It was pretty funny.

I found a recipe online for espresso brownies. I think I'll have to bake a batch and drop them off for my neighbor. I'm also planning to make affogatos this summer and coffee ice cream. I think this machine is going to come in very handy!

Friday, November 7, 2008

Kukicha - Twig Tea

This is a pot of Kukicha I ordered at the Samovar Tea Lounge last week while I was up in San Francisco for the day.

What makes a green tea Kukicha? Instead of using the new, soft, spring leaves, Kukicha instead uses late season leaves that are more coarse and mature. True Kukicha (pronounced: koo-key-cha) is traditionally made of the dried stems and branches of the tea plant. This results in two major difference: A lower caffeine content and a milder flavor.

I was first introduced to Kukicha when I used to practice macrobiotics. Even though I no longer practice the diet and lifestyle 100% the tea is one of several dietary recommendations I have hung onto and incorporated into my day to day life.

This is my favorite twig tea. Made by "Choice Organic Teas" it's flavor is slightly sweet, toasted and very refreshing hot, cold or at room temperature. This photo shows the branches, twigs and stems are not only aged but carefully toasted creating the rich, brown color you see here.

The Flavor: Very light, smooth, slightly sweet and nutty
The Price: $3.85 for 16 tea bags

This is a new Kukicha I recently picked up at Samovar Tea Lounge. It is more like a classic green tea as it contains some leaves. This would be a good transitional tea for someone who has never had twig tea to begin drinking before changing to twigs only. With a price of $25 for a small tin I had to think about whether or not I was worthy of such a luxury. In the end I decided I was.

The flavor is light, smooth and grassy.
The Price: $25 for a 1.75 oz tin

So if you like tea but have never tried twig tea... Give it a try. It's available in most health food stores. I usually purchase mine at Whole Foods but you can use the links in this post to order online direct from the companies themselves.

And when brewing tea remember to never use boiling hot water, this will cause the flavor to turn bitter. For a smoother, sweeter flavor always heat the water to boiling then turn the heat off. Remove pot from heat source. Let the water sit for a couple of minutes then add your tea.

Friday, May 23, 2008

Frostie Cherry Limeade Soda


Talk about yum! After spending my most recent surprise sushi night with my friend and colleague, Jewel Savadelis, we popped into Powell's Sweet Shoppe, a cute candy shop in downtown Los Gatos, where I spotted this very unusual bottle of soda. I couldn't resist and purchased a bottle to try later at home. If you loved cherry snow cones as a kid? Chances are you'll love this soda because that's exactly what it tasted like.

Wednesday, March 28, 2007

Bubble Tea

I LOVE Fantasia Tea's Lychee Green tea, with pearls, no ice and no milk.

Have you tried it? Also known as bubble tea the pearls are the smalll round balls that are chewy like a gummy bear, but aren't sweet. The Lychee is sweet and since it's a fruit is good fiber. The first time I tried it I ordered it with the ice and milk but realized that they both dilute the flavor of the tea. Now I only order the tea without either, even in hot weather.

If you go be sure to ask for a frequent buyer card. They last for a few months and when you fill it up they give you back a few bucks off of your eleventh tea.

Sunday, January 7, 2007

Tea Time

So my entire life I had never been a fan of iced tea. That Liptons stuff? I know everyone else in the world loves it but I've never cared for it. Recently I found I do love iced tea... Only thing is that I love premium teas. It all began when my friend Carl brought me a bottle of a new tea he had fallen for. It was a bottle of Tazo Giant Peach. I thanked him and put it in the fridge and proceeded to forget it was there for a couple of weeks.

Then one day I saw it sitting in the fridge looking forlorn and forgotten and I thought what the heck, I'll try it. Oh my gosh I loved it! Once my boyfriend found out I liked it, he bought me an entire case of it. That's just the kind of sweet guy he is.

Since then I've also discovered I have a penchant for Pom's Lychee Green Tea. It is sooooo yummy and sooooo healthy because it contains pomegranate juice which is full of antioxidants and polyphenols! Rather then focus on cures for disease I am all for using food to prevent them in the first place. My body is my temple so while others may have an expensive cup of coffee I enjoy my new found love of Pom tea to nourish and protect myself. Try it, you might love it as much as I do! I know any day now my wonderful boyfriend is going to come home with some more Pom!

Thursday, February 9, 2006

I'm Thinking About Getting Schnockered!

I've never cared for alcohol... So I've never taken up drinking but recently I was introduced to "Ice Wine" at Straits Cafe and loved it! For those unfamiliar, ice wine is sweet. Very very sweet. Like Martinelli's sparkling cider sweet with a little bit of fizz in it. After a bit of web based research I learned that it is a French wine where the grapes are left on the vine until the first heavy frost. They are picked in the morning and are immediately pressed while still frozen so there is less water and apparently more sugar.

After my first taste I decided to go buy a bottle. Luckily my sister had given me a Whole Foods gift card for Christmas that was burning a hole in my pocket so I took my gal pal Judy with me and off we went in search of my first bottle of booze!

We quickly realized our quest wouldn't take long. They only had two bottles to choose from. One was $19.99 the other was close to $54. My gift card was for $50 and being a novice to fine wines I figured I was only worthy of the cheaper one.

Sadly, despite my grand intentions to take up social drinking, my bottle of ice wine has become nothing more then a mere conversation piece. I bring it out to show it to friends and excitedly tell them how I plan to drink a big glass some day and get "schnockered" but come on, who am I kidding? The only thing that bottle is going to do is collect dust. (Actual bottle pictured at left)

Apparently for some of us... It's as hard to start drinking as it is for others to stop.